23rd Screen Actors Guild Awards Predictions

Unknown.png

 

Hi friend,

How art thou?

I am lovely, and I have been this way all weekend because it is time for one of my favorite award shows—the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards.

I know what some may be thinking: Uh, what is the SAG Awards? The simplest answer that I can give you is that it is an award show for actors voted by actors.

Now, why is this show one of my favorites, might you ask? Well, because this show is voted on by the Screen Actors Guild, the votes are more genuine, and in my opinion, more honorable. Like I have said in the past, The Golden Globes and The Academy Awards are oftentimes disappointing—mainly because I think season-long award campaigns obstructs an honest vote. However, The SAG Awards are different. At this show, members of the guild acknowledge their peers for giving some of the best performances of the year. The votes are sincere, unsolicited and fair, and that is what I relish.

I have never done official predictions for the SAGs in the past, so this is a bit new for me, but I am pretty confident in my projections.

Per usual, I have refrained from predicting television awards because I have not watched a lot of the shows that have been nominated, and binge watching is a trap I refuse to fall for. Thus, here are my SAG FILM predictions for 2017.

Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture

The Nominees: Captain Fantastic
, Fences
, Hidden Figures
, Manchester by the Sea
, Moonlight

Projected Winner: The cast of Moonlight

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role

The Nominees: Casey Affleck for Manchester by the Sea, Andrew Garfield for Hacksaw Ridge, Ryan Gosling for La La Land, Viggo Mortensen for Captain Fantastic, Denzel Washington for Fences

Projected Winner: Casey Affleck for Manchester by the Sea

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role

The Nominees: Amy Adams for Arrival, Emily Blunt for The Girl on the Train, Natalie Portman for Jackie, Emma Stone for La La Land, Meryl Streep for Florence Foster Jenkins

Projected Winner: Natalie Portman for Jackie

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role

The Nominees: Mahershala Ali for Moonlight, Jeff Bridges for Hell or High Water, Hugh Grant for Florence Foster Jenkins, Lucas Hedges for Manchester by the Sea, Dev Patel for Lion

Projected Winner: Mahershala Ali for Moonlight

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role

The Nominees: Viola Davis for Fences, Naomie Harris for Moonlight, Nicole Kidman for Lion, Octavia Spencer for Hidden Figures, Michelle Williams for Manchester by the Sea

Projected Winner: Viola Davis for Fences

Outstanding Action Performance by a Stunt Ensemble

The Nominees: Captain America: Civil War, 
Doctor Strange,
Hacksaw Ridge,
Jason Bourne, 
Nocturnal Animals

Projected Winner: Captain America: Civil War

 

Be sure to check back here to see if my predictions are correct.

Thank you for reading :)

-Ta’lor Prince

Leave a Reply

