2017 Golden Globe Predictions

jimmy-fallon-36d0b6ff-b993-4f25-b6fe-a4b9399bf1ca

Greetings, to my fellow cinephiles, or to my friends just supporting my cinema addiction.

I am here; I am back, and I have come to bless the masses with my award season talk. But most importantly, I am back with my predictions.

For the past year, I have been missing from the WordPress apparatus—mainly because last year’s award season truly put a damp in my heart. Do we all remember the controversy surrounding the Oscars last year? If not, lucky you, but here is a brief synopsis of the hot potato surrounding the 2016 season anyway.

In retrospect, letting the results of the 2016 season hinder my love for cinema was a poor decision, but the films of 2016 smacked me in the face to remind me of what I love, and why I started this blog in the first place.

The movies in 2016 were riveting. Seeing films like Moonlight, Fences, and Hidden Figures gave me the joy that I have been yearning for since 2013, the year I fell in love with the power of cinema. For this reason, I am excited to revamp my blog for 2017 with, you guessed it, The Golden Globes.

Like I say every year, the Golden Globes is a different type of award show. The Hollywood Foreign Press Association nominates, invites and awards film and television stars for their achievements from the past year. Sounds normal, right? Well, not exactly. The Golden Globes is an award show that is basically a fancy dinner party where A-listers drink too much and take home little statues to validate their talent. Basically, it’s a fun time for everyone, unlike the other award shows.

Typically, I include a little Golden Globe slander in here. However, it’s a new year, so I will spare them. Plus, my favorite late-night host, Jimmy Fallon, is hosting, so I am in a great mood.

The Golden Globes is the most unpredictable award show of the season, yet I continue to try to predict the results anyway. So, without anymore ranting, here are my 2017 Golden Globe FILM predictions:

 

Best Motion Picture – Drama:

Nominees: Hacksaw Ridge, Hell or High Water, Lion, Manchester by the Sea, Moonlight

Should Win: Moonlight

Will Win: Moonlight

 

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy:

Nominees: 20th Century Women, Deadpool, La La Land, Florence Foster Jenkins, Sing Street

Should Win: La La Land

Will Win: La La Land

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama:

Nominees: Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea), Joel Edgerton (Loving), Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge), Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic), Denzel Washington (Fences)

 Could/Should Win: Denzel Washington

Will Win: Casey Affleck

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama:

Nominees: Amy Adams (Arrival), Jessica Chastain (Miss Sloane), Isabelle Huppert (Elle), Ruth Negga (Loving), Natalie Portman (Jackie)

Could Win: (only because the Hollywood Foreign Press is in love with her) Amy Adams

Will/Should Win: Natalie Portman

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy:

Nominees: Colin Farrell (The Lobster), Ryan Gosling (La La Land), Hugh Grant (Florence Foster Jenkins), Jonah Hill (War Dogs), Ryan Reynolds (Deadpool)

Should Win: Ryan Gosling

Will Win: Ryan Gosling

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy:

Nominees: Annette Bening (20th Century Women), Lily Collins (Rules Don’t Apply), Hailee Steinfeld (The Edge of Seventeen), Emma Stone (La La Land), Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

Should Win: Emma Stone

Will Win: Emma Stone

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture:

Mahershala Ali (Moonlight), Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water), Simon Helberg (Florence Foster Jenkins), Dev Patel (Lion), Aaron Taylor-Johnson (Nocturnal Animals)

Should Win: Mahershala Ali

Will Win: Mahershala Ali

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture:

Nominees: Viola Davis (Fences), Naomie Harris (Moonlight), Nicole Kidman (Lion), Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures), Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

SHOULD/COULD/NEED/WILL WIN: VIOLA DAVIS

 

Best Director – Motion Picture:

Nominees: Damien Chazelle (La La Land), Tom Ford (Nocturnal Animals), Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge), Barry Jenkins (Moonlight), Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)

Could Win: Barry Jenkins

Will Win: Damien Chazelle

 

Best Screenplay:

Nominees: La La Land, Nocturnal Animals, Moonlight, Manchester by the Sea, Hell or High Water

Could Win: Moonlight

Will Win: La La Land

 

Best Motion Picture – Animated:

Nominees: Kubo and the Two Strings, Moana, My Life as a Zucchini, Sing, Zootopia

Could Win: Moana

Will WinZootopia

 

Best Original Song – Motion Picture:

Nominees: “Can’t Stop the Feeling” (Trolls), “City of Stars” (La La Land), “Faith” (Sing) “Gold” (Gold), “How Far I’ll Go” (Moana)

Will Win: “City of Stars”

I want to win because I am rooting for Lin-Manuel to become an EGOT winner: “How Far I’ll Go”

 

Best Original Score – Motion Picture:

Nicholas Britell (Moonlight),  Justin Hurwitz (La La Land), Johann Johannsson (Arrival), Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka (Lion), Hans Zimmer, Pharrell Williams, Benjamin Wallfisch (Hidden Figures)

Will Win: La La Land

Could Win: Moonlight

 

Best Motion Picture, Foreign Language

Nominees: Divines (France), Elle (France), Neruda (Chile), The Salesman (Iran / France), Toni Erdmann (Germany)

Could Win: Elle (I am purely guessing based on reviews)

Be sure to check back to see if my predictions are right, or at least close.

Until next time,

Ta’lor :)

One thought on “2017 Golden Globe Predictions

Leave a Reply

