Spotlight Film of the Month: Vertigo

This summer, I am taking a film class, and of course, the class involves me spending much of my break viewing classical Hollywood films. So far, we have analyze quite a few good films, but one in particular stood out to me more than the others—Vertigo.

Vertigo is Alfred Hitchcock’s 1958 film based off of the French novel D’entre les Morts.

In 2012, Vertigo beat out the universally acclaimed Citizen Kane and topped Sight and Sound’s ’50 Greatest Films of All Time’ list. Sometimes some of these Hollywood classics can be a tad overrated; however, this film blew me away. So much so that I am still thinking about it weeks after viewing it for class.

Because I want you all to watch it, I don’t want to give away any important details. What I will tell you is that Vertigo is a twisted tale of a detective, John “Scottie” Ferguson, who was retired after a freak accident that killed one of his colleagues, which ultimately triggered his acrophobia and vertigo. Scottie is hired by one of his college classmates to follow his wife, Madeleine, because he feels that something odd is going on with her.

I know that it doesn’t sound that juicy from my brief synopsis, but I am trying to refrain from spoiling the story for you. Just check out the trailer right here:

Vertigo is the first film in my new article series, which will highlight one film recommendation each month. If you don’t do anything for the month of August, just make sure you check out Vertigo—if you haven’t already.

You will thank me.

Until my next post, toodles.

Leave a Reply

