My most anticipated films for the remainder of 2015.

We are halfway through the year, and it has been an exciting year for film so far. Since all of the best films come out toward the end of the year, I have decided to post my most anticipated films for the rest of 2015

Fantastic Four

This year, Marvel is releasing a Fantastic Four reboot—making it the third Fantastic Four film in the series. Though I have not seen the predecessors of this film, I am anxiously awaiting the latest installment because of one reason: Michael B. Jordan as Human Torch.

Over the past couple of months, people have been voicing their opinions on a black man playing a character who has always been portrayed as white. While many are opposed to the idea, I support it 100%. White actors play people of color all the time, so why can’t a black man play a white character? Instead of critiquing the casting, we should all be thanking Michael B. Jordan for “torching the color line” in Hollywood by taking on this role.

To be frank, nothing in this trailer really caught my attention. However, I cannot wait to see what Michael B. Jordan brings to the table as Human Torch.

Fantastic Four hits theaters on August 7.

Straight Outta Compton

 

Straight Outta Compton will follow the controversial rap group N.W.A. during their provocative career during the late 80s to early 90s. Produced by Ice Cube and Dr. Dre, Straight Outta Compton stars Jason Mitchell as Eazy-E, Corey Hawkins, as Dr. Dre, and Ice Cube’s son, O’Shea Jackson Jr., as Ice Cube. I can’t really predict much from the trailer, but I know that this film will be a timely thrill that we all should enjoy.

Straight Outta Compton is releasing on August 14.

Black Mass

Black Mass is a crime-drama based off of Dick Lehr’s book, Black Mass: Whitey Bulger, the FBI, and a Devil’s Deal. This film stars Johnny Depp as Whitey Bulger, one of Boston’s most notorious leaders in the organized crime scene from the 1970s until the 1990s, and one of the most abominable gangsters in the United States’ history.

We all know that Johnny Depp has been lacking a lot of luster lately. Mortdecai, Transcendence, and The Lone Ranger have left us all thinking,“What’s going on with Johnny Depp?”

I am confident that Black Mass will drag Depp out of his dark hole of terrible roles and hopefully the unpredictable hole of horrid films. Depp is electrifying in this trailer, which makes me eager to see how he performs in the entire film. Black Mass will be released on September 8.

The Martian

The Martian looks great. The casting list is epic, and this even looks like fun in Imax. I am predicting that this film will have a Gravity effect but I said the same thing about Interstellar last year, which only won one Oscar.

Even if The Martian isn’t as acclaimed as Gravity, it will be a solid box office favorite when it releases on October 2.

Hunger Games: Mockingjay—Part 2

The Hunger Games series is my favorite series ever and it may be up there on my favorite movies of all time list. Though I am super excited for Mockingjay—Part 2, I can wait for it because I am not ready for this phenomenal series to end. I wish this film could be four hours long, that’s how much I already love Mockingjay—Part 2.

Mockingjay—Part 2 will certainly kill the box office when it hits theaters on November 20.

Creed

Creed is another Michael B. Jordan flick releasing this year. The film is a spin-off of the very profitable Rocky series about the son of Apollo Creed, who wants to be a great boxer and wants Rocky Balboa to train him.

The trailer should speak for itself and it will get the Rocky franchise fans into the theater, so I think it will do well at the box office.

Creed releases on November 25.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

To be honest, I am not a Star Wars fan. However, I am a fan of movies and the records they set. This film will set many records and I think it will surpass both Furious 7 and Jurassic World to become the highest grossest film of 2015.

Snowden

I already told you all that I was stoked for Snowden. Snowden is a biographical film about the life of Edward Snowden, the man who leaked classified NSA information back in 2013—which consequently made him the “most wanted man in the world.”

Intense right?

I am already predicting Oscar nominations in Snowden’s future. Best Picture, Best Adapted Screenplay, and even Best Actor for Joseph Gordon-Levitt, though I still think Andrew Garfield would have made a better Snowden.

Snowden is releasing on Christmas Day.

Joy

Jennifer-Lawrence---Set-of-Joy--14-662x639

Very little information has been released regarding Joy, not even a film poster. The only thing that is really known is that it’s a biographical comedy-drama about Joy Mangano, the creator of the Miracle Mop.

The reason I am so excited for this movie is because it stars my favorite actress, Jennifer Lawrence, my favorite actor, Bradley Cooper, and one of my favorite directors, David O. Russell.   Did I mention, one of the greatest actors ever, Robert De Niro?

As soon as I get a trailer for this film, I will definitely post it, but in the meantime, I can just tell you that it is going to be amazing.

Just like Snowden, this film also releases on Christmas Day.

The Revenant

revenant-01_612x381

The Revenant is a western thriller based on the book, The Revenant, by Michael Punke. Similar to Joy, there is no trailer or film poster for The Revenant, but we do know the film has talent. Directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu, who is fresh off of his three Oscar wins at this years Academy Awards, The Revenant is about a fur trapper who is portrayed by his partners at one of his weakest points. The film follows the trapper, played by the amazing Leonardo DiCaprio, as he seeks revenge on the partners who robbed him and left him to die after an attack.

This film also hits theaters on December 25.

Leave a Reply

