Jake Ballard dead? I don’t think so.

Early Sunday morning, I caught up on the latest episode of ABC’s Scandal. I’m Just a Bill, was different from the past few episodes of Scandal and by different, I mean, juicy. Don’t get me wrong, I love Scandal but the past couple of episodes have been lacking the ShondaLand juice. However, this episode was equivalent to the very scandalous season two episodes.

Just to recap: Papa Pope came back with one of his superbly executed monologues, Russell, Olivia’s new guy, is apart of B613 and… He killed Captain Jake Ballard! Maybe?

At the end of the episode, Russell, who is played by Brian White, lures Jake into Olivia’s office and they wrestle for a little until Russell pulls out a knife and stabs Jake multiple times, five to be exact.

I have been a huge fan of Jake since the episode he met Olivia in that affluent coffee shop. Hence, each puncture felt like an excruciating slap and of course, it triggered the waterworks. After I cried for a few minutes, I pulled it together and came up with the conclusion that Jake Ballard is NOT dead. Here are my reasons why:

1. Shonda Rhimes would have warned us                                                                                       If the writers of Scandal killed Jake off the show, the episode preview of I’m Just a Bill would have warned us that something tragic is coming. ShondaLand productions usually give us a hint when something big is going to happen to a main character. For example, when James was killed, we were warned in the episode preview that something bad was going to happen to someone. However, last week, we got nothing.

2. No goodbyes to Scott Foley                                                                                                              I twatched every cast/crew member of Scandal and no one tweeted goodbye  to Scott Foley aka Jake Ballard. Joshua Malina, who plays David Rosen, tweeted “It has been a real pleasure working with ‪@scottkfoley#Scandal,” but he is a jokester, I’m not buying it. Either Scott Foley was hated on the Scandal set or Jake Ballard isn’t really dead.

3. Jake is invincible and he is “the one who knocks”                                                            Jake is never the victim; he is the attacker. To me, Jake Ballard lives by Walter White’s quote “I am not in danger…I am the danger. A guy opens his door and gets shot and you think that of me? No. I am the one who knocks!” Jake is tough, he can survive a few stab wounds.

4. Jake is not dying before Charlie.                                                                                           Charlie has been sticking around for ages. I am patiently waiting for Papa Pope or Quinn to eliminate him. #sorrynotsorry

5. Fitz cannot win                                                                                                                                    If Jake is dead, there is no more #Olake or #Olitz battle. I’m team #Olake in case you couldn’t tell.

Overall, the ending to last week’s episode was a little too nebulous to convince me that Jake Ballard is dead. Then again, I’m in denial about the entire incident.

Tune in to ABC tonight at 9pm to get the fate of Captain Ballard.

Thanks for reading :)

Leave a Reply

