2015 Oscar Predictions

Oscars
Last year was a great year for film. In 2014, I saw so many enjoyable/good quality films that all managed to teach me something.  The 2015 Oscars is going to consist of a lot of tight races and below I predicted 20 out of the 24 categories tonight. Hopefully I’m right!

Best Picture: This year, the Best Picture category is an arduous category to predict. For the past couple of months, both Birdman and Boyhood have been in the talk to take home the top prize tonight. Lately, the odds have been working in the favor of Birdman, but I am going to go out on a limb and say that Boyhood will win Best Picture tonight. Boyhood deserves to win; however, I will not be surprised if Birdman wins.

Best Actor: This category is basically a battle between Michael Keaton and Eddie Redmayne. If you have been keeping up with my rants lately, you know that I am all for Eddie Redmayne taking home the statue. Keaton performance was entertaining in Birdman but Redmayne is riveting in The Theory of Everything. If you have not seen The Theory of Everything, Redmayne perfectly characterizes the inspiring physicist Stephen Hawking who suffers from motor neuron disease. In my opinion, Redmayne is the best part of the film. Watching him transform himself into Steven Hawking and to see him physically deteriorate over the course of the film was absolutely mind-blowing.

Best Actress: Rosamund Pike was perfect as Amy Dunne in Gone Girl and I have not seen anything from a lead actress that can compare in 2014. However, Julianne Moore will win Best Actress tonight. I love Julianne Moore and I am a huge fan of her work but I don’t see how she swept this category all season. Don’t get me wrong, she did a good job in Still Alice but I think Pike deserves the win. The Academy (and apparently every other award show) loved Moore as Alice, so I’m not going to get my hopes up for a surprise win for Pike.

Best Supporting Actor: Should we even question this category? J.K. Simmons will win and definitely deserves to win for his portrayal of Fletcher, an intense, petrifying, and abusive band instructor in Whiplash. I love him in this role and I love this movie.

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette has this category on lock. She was great in Boyhood. P.S. I bet she pulls out a piece of paper and give us a long nervous speech. We may even get a tear from her.

Best Director: The Best Picture winner deserves Best Director too. But, if Birdman wins Best Picture, I still think Richard Linklater deserves this accolade for directing Boyhood. Do you guys know what he did? He filmed one of greatest movies ever thought of over the course of 12 years. Linklater is a genius. That is all.

Best Original Screenplay: This category is a tight one too. The Best Original Screenplay category is going to come down to either Birdman or The Grand Budapest Hotel. I think Birdman should win, but The Grand Budapest Hotel will most likely win.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Weirdly, Whiplash is nominated for Adapted Screenplay as oppose to original screenplay because it was adapted from the short film they submitted to Sundance???… Anyway, Whiplash was my favorite film from last year so I am going with Whiplash for Best Adapted Screenplay but it wouldn’t surprise me if the Academy voted for The Theory of Everything. By the way, The Academy is foolish for not nominating Gone Girl in this category.

Best Animated Feature: If you would have asked me this question back in January, I would have easily said The Lego Movie but The Lego Movie was not nominated. Thus, I am going with How To Train Your Dragon 2.

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki is going to win Best Cinematography two years in a row. Last year Gravity and this year Birdman.

Best Foreign Language Film: I am going to say Ida. Though, Leviathan can win too.

Best Original Song: How lovely does “Oscar winner’s Common and John Legend” sound? Great right? Side note: Why wasn’t Lorde nominated for ‘Yellow Flicker Beat’?

Best Original Score: Okay, I loved both the Birdman and Gone Girl score. However, neither of the two is nominated. So now, I am thinking that The Theory of Everything has the highest chance of taking home the Oscar.

Best Makeup: The Grand Budapest Hotel for one reason: people love The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Visual Effects: Interstellar

Best Documentary: Citizenfour

Best Film Editing: I’m thinking Sandra Adair for Boyhood.

Best Costume Design: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Production Design: The Grand Budapest Hotel, again.

Best Sound Mixing: Whiplash

Thanks for reading

-Ta’lor

Leave a Reply

